I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011(FIRST) Regular Session

TOUS SON SON

Resolution No. <u>215-31</u>(coe)

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Aldolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRAGULATING THE GUAM SURGICENTER ON THEIR TENTH (10TH) ANNIVERSARY OF MEDICAL SERVICE TO THE PEOPLE OF GUAM.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF

- I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter, LLC has been an important part of the
- 4 Guam community by providing needed services to the people of Guam through
- 5 urgent, emergent and elective surgery procedures; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the first meeting of the Guam Surgicenter, LLC took place on
- 7. August 28, 2000 and the Guam Surgicenter, LLC took on its first case on October
- 8 24, 2011; and

1

2

- 9 WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter, LLC was founded under the leadership
- of the Board of Directors: Jan Bollinger, MD; Ronald Kobayashi, MD; Jerone
- 11 Landstrom, MD; Mr. William McMillan and Mr. Joe Husslein and founding
- members: John Rosoff, MD; Farrell Cole, MD and Marlin Larsen, PhD; and

- 1 WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter, LLC continues its service to the
- 2 community of Guam today under the leadership of the current Board of Directors:
- 3 Marlin Larsen, PhD; Jan Bollinger, MD; Jerone Landstrom, MD; Ronald
- 4 Kobayashi, MD; William Fell, MD; Ms. Alicia Iseke and Mr. Michael Ysrael; and
- WHEREAS, the people of Guam recognize the hard work and dedication of
- 6 Pacific Medical Management; TakeCare Ins. Co.; Jan Bollinger, MD; Jerone
- 7 Landstrom, MD; Farrell Cole, MD; Jaroslav Richter, MD; Ronald Kobayashi, MD;
- 8 William Fell, MD; Harvard Medical Park; Mr. Michael Ysrael; Suresh Krishnan,
- 9 MD; Sung Park, MD; Saied Safabakhsh, MD; Mohammed Madantschi, MD;
- 10 ABCT, Inc.; Harris Hills, LLC; RP Healthcare; Mr. Alan Liesinger; Mr. Robert
- 11 Bennett; and ABCT Mobile Scanner, the owners of Guam Surgicenter, LLC for
- maintaining a quality healthcare facility on island; and
- WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter, LLC started with humble beginnings
- and has now grown to a staff of 34 employees; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter, LLC provides invaluable medical
- attention to the people of Guam in dental, general, gynecology, ophthalmology,
- orthopedic, otorhinolaryngology, plastic, podiatry and urology services; and
- 18 WHEREAS, in the past ten (10) years, the Guam Surgicenter has brought
- in new Arthoscopy equipment and instrumentation for Orthopedic procedures to
- 20 better service their patients; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the Guam Surgicenter assisted in bringing Dr. Fitzsimmons,
- 22 the only Sports Medicine Orthopedic Surgeon to the island. Dr. Fitzsimmons is
- 23 performing the latest surgical interventions for shoulders and knees with an
- emphasis on Sports Medicine, performing procedures such as Rotator Cuff Repairs
- 25 and Anterior Cruciate Ligament Repairs; and
- WHEREAS, they also brought Dr. Fell, the only
- 27 Otorhinolaryngologist (ENT) to the island; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

WHEREAS, they have the capability to perform Extracorporeal Shock
Wave Lithotripsy procedures, which is a non-invasive procedure to break up
kidney stones; and

WHEREAS, since serving its first patient in 2001, the Guam Surgicenter,

LLC has served nearly two thousand (2,000) patients every year since; and now,

therefore be it

RESOLVED, *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, congratulate and extend a warm *un dangkolo na si Yu'os ma'ase'* to the Guam Surgicenter, LLC for its dedication and contributions made to the community of Guam over the past ten (10) years; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to , the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Guam Surgicenter, LLC, and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE _____ DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D
Speaker

RORY RESPICIO
Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary